Home Forums ePix Support ePix Theme Crashing

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I am experiencing a lot of crashing issues with the ePix theme on my iPhone and iPad, with both safari and chrome browsers. I have had it crash when viewing my site as well as the stock ePix theme site. Are you aware of these issues, and is there a fix?

http://www.jeffreyallred.com

Running iOS 7.0.6

Tom ( Support)
    Keymaster

Hi Jeff,

Exactly which pages on your site and the demo site is it crashing on? I would be surprised if the idevices did not struggle loading the amount of large images you have on your home page as that is an awful lot to handle.

If you can let me know which pages, I will test them out on our idevices.

Kind regards,
    Tom

Anonymous

Yes it is the home page. I’m a photographer, and showing my work off is obviously the end goal, and I wish I would have known this would be an issue before purchasing.

But your ePix demo site also crashes on my iDevices.

Anonymous

Tom,

Is there any possible update you can do to where it will load say 20-25 images, and then as I scroll down it’ll load more accordingly? This is truly a deal breaker for me if I cannot access my site on mobile devices. I need to share my work – and lots of it. Thank you so much for your assistance.

– Jeff

Andy
    Andy
    Keymaster

Hey Jeff,

The issue is the images are a little too big – you can try reducing the size in the Gallery options ( set a width only ) and this will reduce the size of each of the images.

I’ve also been working on a RESS solution – this means that I can detect whether the device viewing the site is a Mobile, Tablet or Computer and set a maximum size depending. Therefore, if it’s a mobile device – the max width would be 400px. This would half each of your images on that page currently.