Deleting Your WordPress Account
Sometimes, a website just isn’t working the way you want it to. While in some situations, you can fix it up and get things working out better, sometimes you just have to delete the site and start again elsewhere. If you’ve really had enough of WordPress as a content management system, though, then you might even want to delete your WordPress account completely. That can be a complex process, though, so we’ve put together a brief guide to help you with the process of how to delete wordpress blog accounts. You’ll be pleased to know that it is a much more straightforward process, requiring fewer steps than the process of shutting down many other web provider accounts.
How to delete a wordpress site
Before you delete your wordpress site, it’s important to remember that this is a permanent move, and you’ll never be able to reuse its wordpress.com address. If you’re sure that’s what you want to do, though, then here’s how to delete wordpress site.
First, find your site’s settings page. Click “My Site”, then “Manage”, then “Settings”. Then, scroll down to the bottom of the Settings page, and click on the “Delete your site permanently” option. After this, you’ll see the option to export your content. This downloads all the content of your WordPress site to a .zip file, letting you keep the content once it’s been unrecoverably deleted from the server.
Once you’ve exported the content of your wordpress blog, scroll down to the “Delete Site” button. If you’re running multiple sites but only want to delete one, make sure the correct site address is listed in the yellow bar on this page! Then, type in the address of the site into the provided field, and click the “Delete this Site” button. That’s the last step, and clicking on this button will permanently and unrecoverably delete your WordPress site.
How to close a wordpress account
Closing a wordpress account is a drastic option that deletes all of the sites you own and all of the contents of those sites. All of the data will be purged from the WordPress system after 30 days and after this the process cannot be reversed and you will not be able to recover either your account or your individual web pages. It will also close off your access to all WooCommerce.com and Gravatar.com assets and functionality. If you’re sure you want to delete a wordpress account completely, here’s how to close wordpress account in a few easy steps.
You can find the option to close your wordpress.com account at the bottom of your “Account Settings” screen. Selecting the “Close your account permanently” option will shut down your username permanently and delete all of the sites you own. If you can’t see this option, that means that you currently have an active plan or domain running on your account. These can be cancelled and deleted via the “Manage Purchases” area of your account.
Within 30 days of selecting this option, you can reverse your account closure process. Once the 30 days have passed, however, all of your account data and site information will be purged and cannot be restored in any way at all.
If you’ve been wondering how to delete a wordpress site or how to close your wordpress account completely, hopefully the above guides will help you to complete that process. Remember, these options are permanent, so if you aren’t completely sure about whether or not you want to delete wordpress account or blog, then you may want to avoid taking this final step until you’re completely sure.
If you’re completely certain that it’s time to shut down your wordpress account and delete all the wordpress blogs attached to the account, though, then the process is simple and the steps given above should make it easy and straightforward for you, allowing you to close down your WordPress account in only a few minutes.